Welcome to the 2023 Cohort of the Sharon Dunwoody Science Journalism Mentorship Program

Welcome to our inaugural cohort of the Sharon Dunwoody Science Journalism Mentorship Program! Our 2023 mentees include Britny Cordera, Jose Fermoso, Annika Hom, Shihab Jamal, Maya Kapoor, Karen Kwon, Koby Levin, Andrew Meissen, Maria Orfila, Roxanne Scott, Helina Selemon, Syris Valentine and Ananya. (A few other mentees will join the cohort later this summer.)

Mentors for the 2023 cohort will include Katharine Gammon, Lauren Gravitz, Erika Hayasaki, Jyoti Madhusoodanan, Amy Mayer, Czerne Reid, Priyanka Runwal, Kamala Thiagarajan, Lindzi Wessel, Ashley Yeager, Lauren Young and Katarina Zimmer, as well as YOUR co-founder and editor Siri Carpenter and program manager Sandeep Ravindran. (Read more about all of our program participants here!)

This new program is made possible at no cost to participants, thanks to the support of Science Sandbox, the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative and individual donations from the TON community. Mentees will each spend nine months working one-on-one with their mentors to explore their career interests and work toward a concrete, achievable goal they set for themselves at the start of the mentorship program, whether that be presenting or write a set number of articles to publish or learn and gain experience in a new skill. Among other things, the mentors will help shape story ideas, provide writing and writing tips, and offer general advice and guidance on crafting and career development. Program participants will also take part in a Slack discussion group and attend webinars and other virtual events.

Related Article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button