Prep Sports: East Girls Win Big Nine Track Title | local sports

The free press

WINONA — Rylie Hansen was a three-time winner to lead Mankato East Women’s Athletics to the championship when Thursday’s Big Nine Conference meet.

East scored 275.55 to win by more than 50 points. Mankato West placed fifth with 142.5.

Hansen won the long jump at 18-2 1/2 feet, the triple jump at 36-5 and the pole vault at 12-0, breaking the team record.

The 4×800 relay team of Hayden Henning, Lauren Henkels, Madison Wolle and Emmy Schulz also set a team record, taking first place in 9:31.62.

Addison Peed won the 1,600m race in 5:17.69 and was second in the pole vault at 10-6.

Madison Harbarth placed first in the wheelchair shot put at 14-7 and the discus at 32-4. Adalyia Borgmeier won the wheelchair 100 in 19.34, 200 in 34.6 and 800 in 2:18.15.

Laura Thavin was second in the 100 hurdles in 15.89, as were Schulz in the 300 hurdles in 47.18 and Ady Lurken in the 3,200m in 11:56.99.

The 4×400 relay team of Schulz, Ava Tibodeau, Henning and Henkels took second place in 4:04.11.

West’s 4x200m relay team of Zoey Hermel, Jaelyn Doss, Ruby Marble and Avery Schmitz placed first in 1:46.47. Doss, Schmitz, Olson and Marble placed second in the 4x100m relay in 50.12.

Owatonna won the men’s title with 291.5 points, with West second at 188 and East fifth at 127.66.

West’s 4×100 relay team of Elijah Green, JonathanLi Rud, Blake Kirby and Jalen Smith took first place in 43.31.

Green was also second in the long jump at 22-3 3/4, and the 4×200 relay team of Kirby, Rud, Mikhi Davis and Smith finished second in 1:30.03.

East won the 4×800 relay as Evan McLean, Jackson Henkels, Sam Thom and Nick Brauer set a school and conference record finishing in 7:57.63.

Aaron Stewart of East was first in the 200 in 22.03 and second in the 100 in 11.04. Brauer won the 800m race in 1:58.26

MacLean was second in the 3,200m race clocking 9:53.87.

Soft ball

Le Sueur-Henderson 3, Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial 2: Avery Voges was 2-for-2 and scored a run in the Knights’ Section 2AA playoff loss at Le Sueur.

Voges pitched six innings, allowing six hits and seven strikeouts.

LCWM plays in the losers bracket at 2 p.m. Saturday.

Springfield 7, Cleveland 6: Springfield scored five runs in the second inning and held on to win the Section 2A game at Cleveland.

Lexy Waldron was 3-for-4 with a home run and four RBIs to lead the Clippers. Laci Hollerich had two hits and scored two runs, and Kaylee Karels had one hit and scored twice.

Cleveland (11-9) plays a playoff game Saturday at Caswell Park.

Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s 7, Nicollet 1: Leah Bode was 2-for-3 with a brace and scored a run in the Raiders’ Division 2A playoff loss at Sleepy Eye.

Sam Kettner and Hattie Hansen both succeeded.

Bode pitched a full game, allowing five earned runs on six hits with five strikeouts.


Mankato Loyola 12, Heron Lake-Okabena/Fulda 2, 6 innings: Jake Sizer threw for a hit in the Crusaders’ first-round victory in the Section 2A tournament at ISG Field.

Lawson Godfrey had two hits, three RBIs and two runs scored, and Ty Skinner had two hits and two RBIs. Caleb Fogal was 3-for-4 and scored two runs, and Christian Theuninck had two hits and an RBI.

Loyola will play Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s on Tuesday at Wolverton Field.

Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial 16, Blooming Prairie 6, 5 innings: Jackson Born was 3-for-4 with four RBIs as the Knights picked up a Division 2A win at home.

LCWM totaled 15 visits. Zack Wells was 2 for 4 with two RBIs and three runs scored, and Owen Mann had three hits and three RBIs. Jack Goeringer was 2 for 3 with two RBIs.

Drew Dahl was the winning pitcher, allowing no earned runs on four hits. He also had three hits and three RBIs.

Related Article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button