Arkansas Public Theater Hosts ‘Unfit’ Premiere

Elsewhere in entertainment, events and the arts:

THEATER: “Unfit” at Rogers

Arkansas Public Theater is hosting the world premiere of Oren Safdie’s “Survival of the Unfit,” at 8 p.m. Friday-Saturday and March 30-April 1 and 2 p.m. March 26-April 2 at the Victory Theater, 116 S. Second St., Rogers.

The play centers on Samuel, a 38-year-old substitute teacher/Uber driver/supermarket bagger/hairdresser, still living at home with his parents, who upon introducing his new girlfriend to them reveals the underlying dysfunction that has caused him restrained from growing up.

Tickets cost between $20 and $40. Call (479) 631-8988 or visit arkansaspublictheatre.org.

FILM: “Hello Girls”

The MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History, 503 E. Ninth St., Little Rock, is screening “The Hello Girls” documentary, a look at the 223 women the U.S. Army Signal Corps sent to France in 1918 in as telephone operators to help win the Great War and their 60-year campaign to gain recognition for their service, 6:30 p.m. Tuesday. It is part of the museum’s Movies at MacArthur series. Admission, popcorn and soft drinks are free. Dial (501) 376-4602.

Women of the Signal Corps ran General John J. Pershing’s switchboard at First Army headquarters. (Special for the Democrat-Gazette/Courtesy of the National Archives) ART: Conway Competition

The Conway Town Center Farmers’ Market and the Conway Alliance for the Arts are accepting entries for the third annual Student Art Competition, open to any student between the ages of 10 and 18 currently attending public, private or home school of Faulkner County. The deadline for registration is April 7. This year’s theme is ‘Cultivating a Climate for Tomorrow’, with a focus on farmers protecting and nurturing the land for future generations. First, second and third place prizes will be awarded in three age categories: 10-12, 13-15 and 16-18, with a $150 prize for best in show. The top 15 pieces from each age category will appear in a gallery exhibition. An online submission form, competition requirements and more information are available at conwayarts.org.

AUDITIONS: “The shadow box”

The Arkansas Public Theater will hold auditions for Michael Cristofer’s “The Shadow Box” at 7 p.m. on March 27 at the Victory Theater, 116 S. Second St., Rogers. Auditions will be based on script readings. An audition package, including audition times, scenes, character descriptions, and a rehearsal schedule, is available for download at arkansaspublictheatre.org/castingandvolunteering — download and bring the package to auditions. Production dates will be May 5-7 and May 11-13. Call (479) 631-8988 for more information.

ETC. : Spring break activities

The Clinton Presidential Center, 1200 President Clinton Ave., Little Rock, will offer free spring break arts activities for visitors of all ages, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., Monday through Friday, inspired by the center’s current exhibit , “Women’s Voices, Women’s Voices Votes, Women’s Rights”, a collection of 18 art quilts – specially commissioned for the exhibition – created by 16 world-renowned artists.

Participants can create a square of fabric representing an issue close to their hearts or their vision for a better future. The material will be provided. Each square will be photographed and included in a community photo quilt. Visitors can also create an origami lotus that will be installed in the new art garden at the Art Museum of Arkansas, a community-created art installation that will be part of the museum’s April 22 grand opening.

Visit clintonpresidentialcenter.org or facebook.com/clintoncenter.

Thea Scholarships

The Thea Foundation has awarded scholarships to 36 Arkansas high school seniors in five categories as part of its 2022-23 competition, inspired by the theme “Prodigious Resilience”:

◼️ Performing arts1. $10,000 — Campbell Yung, Little Rock Christian Academy 2. $9,000 — Christina Myers, Lakeside High School, Hot Springs 3. $8,000 — Mya Sanders, Hot Springs High School 4. $7,000 — Faith Cureton, Van Buren High School 5 $6,000 — Brooklyn Courtney-Moore, Pulaski Academy, Little Rock 6. $3,000 — Peyton Lyons, Fayetteville High School 7. $3,000 — Lucy Jolley, Robinson High School, Little Rock 8. $3,000 — Audrey Swain , Conway High School 9. $3,000 — Brennan Wilkins, Lakeside High School 10. $3,000 — Emily Cross, Clarksville High School◼️ Visual Arts1. $10,000 — McKenzie Young, Sylvan Hills Secondary School, Sherwood 2. $9,000 — Jay Decker, Cabot Secondary School 3. $8,000 — Skie Edwards, North Little Rock Secondary School 4. $7,000 — Roman Kresse, Secondary School Central, Little Rock 5. $6,000 — Grace Moore, Life Way Christian, Bella Vista 6. $3,000 — Macy Brookhouser, Life Way Christian, Centerton 7. $3,000 — Isabella Hamilton, Central High School, Little Rock 8. $3,000 — Alyssa Jaggermauth, Arkansas Arts Academy, Rogers 9. $3,000 — Angelina Parker, Van Buren High School 10. $3,000 — Irien Rogers, North Little Rock High◼️ Creative Writing1. $10,000 — Clarke Preston, North Little Rock High 2. $9,000 — Olivia Lessel, Little Rock Christian Academy 3. $8,000 — Shelby Hill, Harding Academy, Searcy 4. $7,000 — Gautami Lohakare, Central High School, Little Rock 5. $6,000 — Alexandria Lowery, Riverview High School, Judsonia 6. $3,000 — Elizabeth Clark, Conway High School 7. $3,000 — Emily Staggs, Batesville Charter High School 8. $3,000 — Faith Hilvert, Mountain Home High School 9. $3,000 — Cassidy Tucker, Arkansas Arts Academy, Bella Vista 10. $3,000 — Natalie Waggoner, Haas Hall Academy, Fayetteville◼️ Film1. $10,000 — John Ghormley, Conway High 2. $9,000 — Alexandra Duran, Rogers High School 3. $8,000 — Bekah Jackson, Central High School, Little Rock◼️ Mode1. $10,000 — Hailey Enggano, Parkview Arts and Science Magnet High School, Little Rock 2. $9,000 — Eureka Smith, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts, Hot Springs 3. $8,000 — Avery Henley, Batesville Charter High School

A total of 464 students from 87 cities in Arkansas applied for a chance at a total of $219,000 in scholarships. The full list of winners, along with examples of their work, is available on the foundation’s blog, theafoundation.org/blog-1.

Related Article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button